How to deactivate your Twitter account

If you want to deactivate your Twitter account, You can follow the simple steps noted down below, But keep note that deactivating your Twitter account will not be reversed and you might permanently lose access to your Twitter account. You might want to create a new one if you want to use the Twitter app again.

Things to know before deactivating your Twitter account

  • When deactivated, your Twitter account, including your display name, username, and public profile, will no longer be viewable on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android.
  • For up to 30 days after deactivation, it is still possible to restore your Twitter account if it was accidentally or wrongfully deactivated.

How to deactivate your account

  1. In the top menu, you will either see a navigation menu icon or your profile icon. Tap whichever icon you have, then tap Settings and privacy.
  2. Tap Account, then tap Deactivate your account at the bottom.
  3. Read the account deactivation information, then tap Deactivate.  
  4. Enter your password when prompted and tap Deactivate.
  5. Confirm that you want to proceed by tapping Yes, deactivate.

On Desktop

  1. Click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu under your profile icon.
  2. From the Account tab, click on Deactivate your account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Read the account deactivation information, then click Deactivate @username.  
  4. Enter your password when prompted and confirm that you want to proceed by clicking the Deactivate account button.
  5. Twitter also makes your username or email address available for re-use before deactivating your account

How to make your username or email address available for re-use before deactivating your account

  1. On the web via twitter.com, click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu under your profile icon
  2. In the username field, choose a new username.
  3. In the email address field, change your email address to a new address you own.
  4. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.  
  5. Enter your password when prompted to confirm that you want to save your changes.
  6. Confirm the new email address via a link we send to you (very important!)
  7. Your email and username will now be available to use on a new account if you choose to sign up again during the 30 day deactivation period.
  8. Proceed with deactivation as listed above.
Total
8
Shares
Total
8
Share